Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Leslie tutors in Irvine, CA

Leslie F.

Private tutor in Irvine, CA

5Leslie F.

31 reviews

Education

University of California, Irvine - BS, Biological Sciences

Experience

I attended the University of California-Irvine and recently earned my Bachelor of Science in Biological Sciences. Because I was once a struggling student and can relate with my students, I like being able to serve as a tutor. I can provide tutoring in a number of diverse subjects to students ranging from elementary schoolers to college seniors. I can competently tutor science subjects such as biology, physiology, pre-calculus, and developmental biology. Even though I was a biological sciences major in college, I most enjoy tutoring different math topics since there are so many approaches one can use to arrive at a solution for a given problem. In math, I can tutor students in elementary and middle school math, pre-algebra, all levels of algebra, and geometry. I am also very familiar with standardized exams and can assist students in preparation for the SAT, SSAT, ISEE, STARR, CAHSEE, CLEP, HSPT, and GRE.Being sociable and likable, my approach is to get to know my students so I can become familiar with their thinking processes, especially during problem-solving. In tutoring sessions, I let my students solve problems on their own to see if they grasp the basic concepts required in solving a problem. When students do struggle with a problem, I show them different ways of solving it until they fully comprehend how to solve it. When students learn concepts and acquire problem-solving skills, they can use them for subsequent topics in the many subjects. I also am deeply satisfied when I see my students succeed in reaching their academic goals.In my free time, I like to sing, play piano, and make new friends. I am also interested in astronomy and photography.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Making new friends, singing, astronomy, photography

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!